Guess What…No Really- Guess!

Comic From: nataliedee.com

If you have kids or have to spend any amount of time around them  then you know that nothing can chill the blood faster than hearing your kid respond to the question, ” what are you doing ” with the reply 

” Nothing. ” 

You just know that when you open the door or walk into the room or turn around and look down it’s not going to be good. 

Personally, I could never figure out using ” nothing ” as an excuse- at the most it’ll buy you a few seconds, I mean if you are going to run it probably more than enough time to make a get away. 

Myself, when I was interrupted mid-stunt by my Mom or Grandmother and they asked me what was I doing- I never said ” Nothing.” 

I’d say ” Guess. ” 

And then I would hear, ” don’t give me any lip, answer me.” 

Then I’d hear the footsteps headed up the stairs to my room and then I’d yell down, ” No really just guess.” 

And then when the door would open and my Mom would stand there  and look at me like- well, all these years later I still can’t describe that look. 

” It would have been better if you had guessed first” I said with as much wisdom as a nine year old who could muster. 

Once and only once  my Grandma would ask me why it would have been better  if she had taken that guess and I told her ” because it makes it funnier.” 

” Do you think worrying people like that is funny?” 

I didn’t answer, I’d just look up at the ceiling and shook my head. 

” What are you looking at?” 

” Guess. ” I told her. 

” Do  you know what happens to smart aleck kids like you?” she asked. 

” Want me to guess?” 

I remember falling on the refinished floor in this fit of hysterical laughter and when Grandma restricted me for the next three days for smarting off I spent those three days in my room drawing on the newly  re-finished hardwood floor under my bed with my Dad’s model airplane paint. 

They found my artwork about a week later. 

 No one asked me why I had done that- they just carpeted the floor and locked up the model paint and instead of asking me what I was doing my parents and Grandparents took to telling me, ” I have eyes on the back of my head, so don’t even think about pulling anything.” 

 But of course I kept right on pulling things- in fact I out did myself for awhile because guess what- they did not have eyes on the backs of their heads.

I checked. 

Guess you weren’t surprised to hear I did that, were you?

7 thoughts on “Guess What…No Really- Guess!

    1. Oh well, to be honest most of the time they would laugh at my stunts right in front of me- so my weirdness didn’t just happen, it was encouraged- what can I say, I think I was lucky.

  1. senua

    yeah, i drew a beautiful picture underneath my pillows (this was before water-washable crayons), put the pillows and thought no one would notice. hah. i also cut my hair at age 4 and thought no one would notice.

Leave a comment